Our mission is to maximize the use of resources in support of student achievement.


Latest Stories

2020 CMCSS Teacher Job Fair

For more information, visit

CMC Education Foundation Honors the 2020 Teachers of the Year

The Clarksville-Montgomery County Education Foundation locally supports the Tennessee Teacher of the Year program, which is designed to promote recognition, respect and appreciation for teachers, to stimulate interest in teaching as a career, and to encourage public involvement in education.   The first local step in the Teacher of the Year recognition process is each Clarksville-Montgomery County School System’s (CMCSS) school nomination. From the 59 nominations made by CMCSS schools, the District then selects one outstanding teacher within each of the state-designated grade categories:  PreK–4, 5–8, and 9–12. Those three District teachers move on to compete at the Region level, from which one teacher is selected to compete as one of nine finalists in the three grand divisions. From the finalists, one is selected as Tennessee Teacher of the Year.   The CMC Education Foundation, along with presenting partner James Corlew Automotive Group and Elliott’s Jewelers, honor the 58 CMCSS teacher nominees at the 2020 Red Carpet Awards Event on Feb. 20. Of the three district-level winners, a random drawing will be held in which one wins a brand new car provided by James Corlew Automotive and the other two receive diamond necklaces donated by Elliott’s Jewelers.   “James Corlew Automotive greatly values teachers and we want to recognize them for their hard work in making Clarksville and Montgomery County a better community,” according to Jason Blurton, General Manager for James Corlew Automotive.   District Level Teacher of the Year Winners are: PreK-4:  Eleya Robertson, Byrns Darden Elementary 5-8:  Candy Favorite, West Creek Middle School 9-12:  Miranda Coots, West Creek High School   School Level Teacher of the Year Winners include: Barkers Mill Elementary, PreK-4, Nicole Waseman Barkers Mill Elementary, 5-8, Sharon Williams Barksdale Elementary, PreK-4, Jo Fambrough Barksdale Elementary, 5-8, Susanne VanDyke Burt Elementary, PreK-4, Victoria McAlman Burt Elementary, […]

Pre-K Application Opportunities for the 2020-21 School Year

The Clarksville-Montgomery County School System will be hosting application events for 2020-21 Pre-K classes.

Spring 2020 Administrative Announcements

Several administrative announcements have been made.

Open Enrollment for the 2020-2021 School Year

The Clarksville-Montgomery County School System offers several non-traditional schools and programs of choice for students. Additionally, specific grade levels in seven elementary schools are available for open enrollment for the 2020-2021 school year.

2020-2021 Student/Parent Calendar

The first half day of school for the 2020-2021 school year is August 12, 2020.

2020-2021 Zoning Feedback

The Clarksville-Montgomery County School Board on first reading at the Dec. 3, 2019 School Board Study Session heard the recommendation that no changes be made to the elementary, middle, or high school zone lines for the 2020-2021 school year. The recommendation was made by the CMCSS Zoning Project Team, which ensures equitable distribution of resources according to the learning needs of all students per the following guidelines:

School Board Considers Five Proposals to Expand Facilities

The Clarksville-Montgomery County School Board reviewed five proposals to partially address an ever-growing student population during its Nov. 5 Study Session.

Chief Operations Officer Jim Sumrell presented the Board members with a report on the school system’s current state of building capacity and recommendations for them to consider during their voting session on Nov. 12.

School Board Recognized by State Organization

The Clarksville-Montgomery County School Board was recognized by the Tennessee School Boards Association as a “Board of Distinction,” one of 32 in the state.

To qualify as a Board of Distinction, a school board must meet specified requirements in four key areas: planning, policy, promotion and board development. The Board was recognized at the TSBA Fall District meeting in Springfield last week.


Administrative Announcements

Brandy N. Walker has been selected as the new assistant principal at Northwest High School. She previously has served Northwest High as student support coordinator; testing and Advanced Placement coordinator; assistant athletic director; and, Associated Student Government sponsor. She earned her M.A. in educational leadership from Austin Peay State University, where she also earned a B.S. in English. She has eight years of educational experience and has completed the CMCSS Leadership Series, as well as the Aspiring Administrators Academy and the Advanced Leadership Academy. Lisa Dominiak has been selected as assistant principal at Oakland Elementary School. She has been a classroom teacher for six years and an academic coach for two years at Minglewood and Norman Smith Elementary Schools. She also has experience as a reading interventionist for four years, and most recently has served as a kindergarten multi-classroom leader at Norman Smith Elementary School. She earned her master’s degree in Administration and Supervision from Austin Peay State University, and a B.S. in elementary education at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. Brandi B. Blackley has been selected as the new High School Curriculum Director for the Clarksville-Montgomery County School System. She currently serves as an assistant principal at Northwest High School and is the administrator of the Heath Science Academy. Blackley has previous administrative experience at Covington High School and Brighton Middle School, as well as in Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi. She has a strong background in curriculum and learning standards leadership, as well as in leading professional development. She also has taught middle and high school English. She holds a master’s degree in educational leadership from Trevecca Nazarene University, a B.A. in English from Delta State University in Cleveland, Miss. Lauren Richmond, who has served as the CMCSS Coordinated School Health Supervisor for the last four years, […]