District News


Our mission is to maximize the use of resources in support of student achievement.


Winter Named Nominee in Tennessee 2012-13 Principal of the Year

July 30, 2012

Please note: This article was originally published on 7/30/2012. Information and/or dates from past events may be not be relevant for the current school year.

NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Education has announced regional finalists for the annual Principal of the Year and Supervisor of the Year awards.

Minglewood Principal Jane Winter is among nine principals, chosen from among more than 1,700 across the state nominated by their peers for the state-level honors, which recognize administrators who have improved education for Tennessee students through their leadership.

“Principals and supervisors work to create better environments for teaching and learning in our schools,” said Education Commissioner Kevin Huffman. “This year’s nominees share the department’s commitment to raising standards for students and have lived out that goal with their innovative programs and strong visions.”

Principal of the Year regional finalists for 2012-13:

First Tennessee: Jeff Moorhouse, Morristown West High School, Hamblen County Schools

East Tennessee: Tom Brown, Holston Middle School, Knox County Schools

Southeast: Carol Goss, Tyner Academy, Hamilton County Schools

Upper Cumberland: Brad Schreiner, Merrol Hyde Magnet School, Sumner County Schools

South Central: Sandy Schultz, Broadview Elementary School, Franklin County Schools

Mid Cumberland: Jane Winter, Minglewood Elementary School, Clarksville/Montgomery County Schools

Northwest: Donald Ray High, Sharon School, Weakley County Schools

Southwest: Lori Leasure, Pin Oak Elementary School, Henderson County Schools

Memphis/Shelby: Frederick Malone, Bellevue Middle School, Memphis City Schools