District News


Our mission is to maximize the use of resources in support of student achievement.


September 2018 News

September 26th, 2018

Administrator Appointment Announced

Melanie Steinlage, who has served as the academic coach at Byrns Darden Elementary, has been appointed to the position of assistant principal, replacing Dr. Nabraunda Jackson who is now principal at the school. She has worked in the Clarksville-Montgomery County School System since 2010, first as a teacher at Hazelwood Elementary, then as an academic coach at Hazelwood, and most recently at Byrns Darden. She earned her M.S. in educational leadership K-12 from the University of Tennessee at Martin and her B.S. in elementary education K-6 at the University of South Florida in Tampa. She has completed McREL leadership training and three Kagan professional development trainings.

September 21st, 2018

CMCSS Increases Number of Reward Schools to 16

Clarksville-Montgomery County Schools received good news on Tennessee’s school data release with 16 of its schools performing in the state’s top five percent and being named “Reward” schools. “We are very proud that our students are staying the course to make academic achievement and progress,” said Director of Schools Millard House II. “We owe a debt of thanks to our teachers, administrators and classified staff for keeping the focus on student learning. And, we cannot overlook the great support we receive from students’ families and the community.” The 2017-18 Reward Schools for CMCSS include: Barksdale Elementary, Byrns Darden Elementary, Montgomery Central Elementary, Hazelwood Elementary, Glenellen Elementary, East Montgomery Elementary, Northeast Elementary, Sango Elementary, Woodlawn Elementary, West Creek Elementary, Carmel Elementary, Rossview Elementary, Pisgah Elementary, Oakland Elementary, Northeast Middle School and Middle College High School at Austin Peay State University. CMCSS had 11 of its schools on the Reward School designation list for the previous year.

Principal Appointments September 12th, 2018

Principal Appointments

Two CMCSS elementary principal appointments were announced Tuesday afternoon. Jessica Harris has been appointed principal at Minglewood Elementary School; and, Nabraunda Jackson has been named principal at Byrns Darden Elementary School.