District News


Our mission is to maximize the use of resources in support of student achievement.



February 20th, 2024

Kindergarten Information for the 2024-2025 School Year

Important information for families of incoming kindergarten students.

January 2nd, 2024

Special Populations Department Hosts “What’s DIDD?” Family Engagement Session

Join CMCSS and the TN Department of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities as they share the programs offered at the state level.

December 13th, 2023

School Board Presents Point of Pride Award – December 2023

December Point of Pride award presented by the School Board.

December 8th, 2023

Administrator Announcements for December

CMCSS has announced two administrative appointments. New Providence Middle School Melanie Steinlage has been selected as the principal of New Providence Middle School. Currently, Steinlage is the principal of West Creek Elementary School, where she has served since 2021. She began her career with CMCSS in 2010 and has served her entire career in public education in Title I schools as a teacher, Academic Coach, assistant principal, and principal. With the support of her instructional leadership, her schools have earned numerous Reward School designations, a National Title I Distinguished Schools designation, and TVASS level 5 composite scores for growth. Steinlage has served in numerous school and district-level leadership roles in curriculum, instruction, assessment, and school improvement. She earned her M.S. in Educational Leadership K-12 from the University of Tennessee at Martin and her B.S. in Education from the University of South Florida. Steinlage has completed numerous national trainings on Kagan strategies and McREL Balanced Leadership. Steinlage stated, “I look forward to joining the Mustang family! My goal as a principal is to utilize my experience, education, and leadership skills to promote a positive environment that nurtures character and elevates student achievement.” Rossview Elementary School Assistant Principal Ellen Scruggs has been selected as an assistant principal at Rossview Elementary School. She currently serves as an Academic Coach at Glenellen Elementary School and served as a Leadership Resident at Barkers Mill Elementary School for the 2022-2023 school year. Scruggs began her career with CMCSS in 2012 after a successful 21-year career in the private sector as a manager and business owner and operator. She has taught at Barksdale and Rossview elementary schools and has served in several school-level leadership roles, including Site-Based Induction Specialist. Scruggs was named Teacher of the Year in the 2020-2021 school year. She earned her M.Ed. in Educational […]

November 28th, 2023

Red River Brigade Championships

This free community event brings JROTC cadets into friendly competition in drill, raider, and air rifle events.

November 13th, 2023

2024-2025 Application Period for Schools & Programs of Choice

Information on CMCSS K-12 Virtual, Spanish Immersion, Moore Magnet STEM, Academies of CMCSS, Early Technical College, and Middle College.

November 3rd, 2023

Administrator Announcements for November 2023

District announcements on school administrators.

November 2nd, 2023

CMCSS Hosts December Hiring Event with Multiple Positions

High needs areas include teachers, special education, and operations team members.

October 31st, 2023

CMCSS Hosts Family Session “Understanding IDEA and Section 504”

A family engagement event hosted by the CMCSS Special Populations Department.

October 25th, 2023

Report Cards are Now Available – October 2023

Information on how to access your child’s report card.