District News


Our mission is to maximize the use of resources in support of student achievement.


Point of Pride Awards for May 2024

May 22, 2024

The CMCSS School Board presented the following Points of Pride to students, faculty, and staff on Tuesday, May 21, 2024.

Valedictorians and Salutatorians

From each of the district’s eight traditional high schools. 

Clarksville High School
Valedictorian – Ella Smith
Salutatorian – Ryan Bellamy

Kenwood High School
Valedictorian: Angelica Heisey
Salutatorian – Krystal LaBelle

Kirkwood High School
Valedictorian – Robert Leal Frost
Salutatorian – Rylee Donovan-Dill Clark

Montgomery Central High
Valedictorian – Sarah Turpen
Salutatorian – Drew Yarbrough

Northeast High School
Valedictorian – Adriana Juana Garcia
Salutatorian – Mallory Paige Couts

Northwest High School
Valedictorian – Kevin Shaw
Salutatorian – Emma Becker

Rossview High School
Valedictorian – Saanvi Burle
Salutatorian – Brady Davidson

West Creek High School
Valedictorian – Janyamol Marie Paine
Salutatorians – Madison Olivia Bennett and Madison Michelle Clayborne

Congratulations to all of our valedictorians and salutatorians!

STEAM Designation

Last week at a ceremony in Nashville, Moore Magnet was redesignated as a STEAM School by the Tennessee Department of Education and the Tennessee STEM Innovation Network. Each school that received the Tennessee STEM/STEAM School Designation underwent a rigorous application process, including completion of a self-evaluation, participation in interviews, and hosting site visits. Schools could either apply for a STEM or STEAM Designation through the designation rubric, which includes five focus areas: infrastructure, curriculum and instruction, professional development, achievement, and community and postsecondary partnerships. Once schools have reached five years of implementing and sustaining STEM/STEAM education through the designation process, schools can complete a redesignation cycle. Moore was one of 15 schools this year to achieve redesignation for a second time. Congratulations to the students, faculty, staff, and administrators at Moore Magnet STEAM School!

Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) National Conference

Montgomery Central High School FCCLA students 

Austin Mason earned Gold in Job Interview Level 3
Sadie Miles earned Gold in Entrepreneurship Level 2
Victoria Gillard & Kaylee Spivey earned Silver in Interior Design Level 2
Brooke Mangrum earned Silver in Public Policy Advocate Level 3

Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) state competition

Montgomery Central High School and Northeast High School

Montgomery Central FBLA

Noah Davis placed 1st in Computer Applications
Joseph Reece placed 1st in Database Design & Applications
Daniel Budde placed 1st in Spreadsheet Applications
Camryn Lord placed 2nd in Client Service
Joshua Hodges placed 2nd in Computer Applications
Jackie Bell placed 2nd in Database Design & Applications
Aeliana Stinnett placed 2nd in Word Processing
Sydney Batson placed 3rd in Agribusiness
Addyson Jurecki placed 3rd in Spreadsheet Applications
Serenity Debien placed 3rd in Word Processing
Benjamin Bull placed 4th in Spreadsheet Applications
Katie French Qualified for Nationals in Public Speaking

Northeast High FBLA

Gianna Henry placed 1st in Advertising
Kaylinda Johnson placed 3rd in Public Policy & Advocacy
Atiyana Wike placed 2nd in Human Resource Management
Jenna Sierawski placed 3rd in Web Design Presentation

Health Occupations Students of America State Leadership Conference

Montgomery Central High School

Abigail Chambers placed 3rd in CPR and First Aid
Susan Long placed 3rd in CPR and First Aid

Walden Woods Project

Middle College at Austin Peay State University

Abigail McKenna

The Walden Woods Project received over 750 essay submissions from 46 states and 11 countries. There is one winner and one honorable mention for both the 14-16 age group and the 17-18 age group. This year’s honorable mention in the 14-16 age group was awarded to Abigail. Her essay, “Fire in the Mountains,” offers a thoughtful and trenchant cautionary tale of our human potential to impact the environment, whether for better or for worse. Congratulations, Abigail!

Zane Galassi

The National English Honor Society Scholarship competition asks seniors to write profound critical and analytical essays about a text chosen annually by student members and Chapter Advisors from around the world. Evaluators from across the globe review the essay submissions, and Zane’s essay about Kayte Nunn’s The Botanist’s Daughter and the video material that he submitted was selected as the winner of a scholarship to support his future studies. Congratulations, Zane!

USA Wrestling Junior and 16U National Championships

Standford Thompson IV placed 3rd in the state and earned a spot again this year in the USA Wrestling Junior and 16U National Championships at the FargoDome in Fargo, N.D. with over 7,000 wrestlers from across the United States and Puerto Rico. Last summer, he competed at the FargoDome and finished 8th in the nation in his division. He began wrestling in 6th grade and has numerous accomplishments, including being the first male wrestler from Clarksville to achieve All-American status. Congratulations, and we will all be cheering you on this summer and in future competitions!

JROTC Competitions

Montgomery Central High School

Instructor: Command Sergeant Major Manning

Cadets on this team include:

Jubilee Ashford
Ray Black
Daniel Budde
Gracie Carman
Grayden Cochran
Serenity DeBien
Shaun DeBien
Abigail Epps
Shelby Epps
Gavin Fidler
Ella Galassi
Kyle Heath
Layla Jones
Lilly Knutson
Anderson Lowe
Jessica Mooney
Lilyan Pilson
Grant Polling
Kenneth Reece
Samari Robinson
Kamara Smith
Myla Smith
Ivy Tubbs
Carsyn Waynick
Lucas Wohrle

At the Rocky Mountain Drill Competition, they placed:
6th as Overall Winners of the Rocky Mountain Drill Competition
5th as Overall Winners in the Armed Team Competition
2nd in Unarmed Inspection Team
3rd in Unarmed Color Guard Team
5th in Armed Color Guard

And, at the Army All-Service National Drill Competition, they placed:

1st in Unarmed Color Guard (National Drill)
2nd in Armed Color Guard (National Drill)
2nd in Unarmed Inspection (National Drill)
4th in Armed Inspection (National Drill)

Congratulations, cadets!

West Creek High School

Instructors: First Sergeant Luckett and Sergeant First Class Slate

Cadets on this team include:

Darcy Aguilar
Gisely Argueta
Rachel Arnette
Gabriela Barzola
Abigail Card
Alarus Clayborn
Avionna Copeland
Ashlynn Cuevas-Martinez
Iyanna Dixon
Shariscid Holt
Braiden Jackson
Serenity Johnson
Taliayah Jones
Jermaine Lacey
Brianna Maerki
D’asia McQueen
Yaquelin Mejia Barahona
Tulpejanet Ned
Joseph Newton
Jaylali Norman
Arianna Oganezov
Jesse Ortiz
Cloe Robinson
Jayceon Rock
Cass Ruiz
Teagan Schneider
Hailey Ryan
Alex Serrano
Angel Shade
Lemont Stalls
Starlit Tavarez
Saylenna Turk
Andrew Webster

At the Rocky Mountain Drill Competition, this team swept the competition, earning:

Overall Winners of the Rocky Mountain Drill Competition
Winners of the Sergeants Major of the Army Cup
Winners of the 5th Brigade Norwich Cup
1st Place Overall Unarmed Champions
1st Place Overall Commander’s Trophy
1st Place Unarmed Duo Exhibition Team
1st Place Unarmed Inspection Team
1st Place 5280 Separate Best Color Guard

And, at the Army and All-Service National Drill Competition, the team placed:

2nd in Unarmed Exhibition Duo
4th in Unarmed Exhibition Duo
5th in Unarmed Color Guard
3rd in Unarmed Exhibition

Congratulations, cadets!