District News


Our mission is to maximize the use of resources in support of student achievement.


CMCSS Wins First Place in National Awards Program Recognizing Innovation and Excellence in Public Schools

March 22, 2017

Please note: This article was originally published on 3/22/2017. Information and/or dates from past events may be not be relevant for the current school year.

Alexandria, Va.- The Clarksville-Montgomery County School System (CMCSS) is a first-place winner in the 23rd annual Magna Awards program, which is sponsored by the National School Boards Association’s (NSBA’s) flagship magazine, American School Board Journal (ASBJ).
The Magna Awards recognize school districts and their leaders for taking bold and innovative steps to improve the lives of students and their communities. CMCSS won for its twice annual program “Business After School”,modeled after the Clarksville Area Chamber of Commerce’s Business After Hours. The program, a collaboration of the school system’s Board, the CMC Education Foundation and the Chamber, invites a local audience to learn more about instruction and curriculum in the school system through direct interaction with students.

“Creativity and innovation are needed to help students realize their full potential,”said Thomas J. Gentzel, NSBA Executive Director and CEO. “The Magna Award-winning districts are prime examples of how public schools all over the country are working to give students a high-quality education and life.”
This year’s 15 first-place winners were selected by an independent panel of school board members, administrators, and other educators from more than 200 submissions in three enrollment categories: under 5,000 students, 5,000 to 20,000 students, and over 20,000 students.
The Magna Awards are supported by Sodexo, a leader in delivering sustainable, integrated facilities management and food service operations.
CMCSS was one of five districts which won first place in the over 20,000 students category, along with:
– Detroit Public Schools Community District, Detroit, Michigan
– Henrico County Public Schools, Henrico, Virginia
– Manatee County Public Schools, Bradenton, Florida
– Springdale School District, Springdale, Arkansas
Clarksville-Montgomery County School Board chairman Anne Murtha and board member Jimmie Garland will accept the award at the National School Boards Association annual meeting next week in Denver.
To read the featured article in the April issue of the ASBJ, go to http://mydigimag.rrd.com/publication/?i=389679&ver=html5&p=26#{“page”:42,”issue_id”:389679}