District News


Our mission is to maximize the use of resources in support of student achievement.


School Board Presents November Points of Pride

November 16, 2022

Please note: This article was originally posted during a previous school year. Information and/or dates from past events
may be not be relevant for the current school year.

The Clarksville-Montgomery County School Board presented Point of Pride awards during their formal meeting on November 15, 2022.

wrestling coach cobb

Coach Sharrock Cobb, Clarksville High School, was selected by the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) as the 2021-2022 Girl’s Wrestling Coach of the Year. His name has been submitted to the National Federation of High School Associations to be nominated for the Section 3 coach of the year, which is comprised of eight southeastern states. We are rooting for Coach Cobb and hope to hear more about that national honor soon. Congratulations on being the T.N. Coach of the Year, Coach Cobb!

At a recent TSSAA meeting, Mr. Bryan Feldman, principal of Clarksville High School, was named the District 5 Principal of the Year. Mr. Feldman earned this award for his outstanding support and leadership in academics and athletics at Clarksville High. Congratulations, Mr. Feldman.

Clarksville High Athletic Director, Mr. Shannon Cummings, represented the school, named a finalist for the Middle Tennessee Divisional A.F. Bridges Sportsmanship Award. The A.F. Bridges Divisional Awards are given to schools with no reported unsportsmanlike conduct incidents during the previous school year. They have displayed an overall positive effort to teach, expect, and demand a positive atmosphere of sportsmanship at their particular contests. Congratulations to Clarksville High for being a top 3 finalist!

Kira Jones is a student at the Middle College at Austin Peay State University. She was recognized for the incredible international achievements she received in extra-curricular activities. Kira entered martial arts at eight years old and has consistently trained for ten years. She trains locally with Harris Holt Martial Arts and nationally with Joey Castro of JuanKan Karate and Fitness in New Jersey. After COVID canceled the last two World Championships, the recent Wales 2022 World Championship was the last opportunity for Kira to compete before becoming an adult. At the team trials in Evansville, Indiana, Kira earned a spot on Team USA. At the WKU World Championships, divisions allow up to four competitors from a country to compete. This year, there were over 2,500 individual athletes. Kira went through four days of competition of 10 to 12 hours a day, beginning with two days of eliminations and then the final medal rounds. Kira won six gold medals and one bronze medal at the world championship. These are outstanding achievements. The Clarksville-Montgomery County community and our country are so proud. Congratulations, Kira!

The School Board was recognized for several achievements, too.

At the Tennessee School Board Association conference this past weekend, Mrs. Carol Berry earned two great honors. First, she was selected to the All Tennessee School Board. During the annual convention, TSBA recognizes five to seven outstanding school board members as All Tennessee School Board members. A panel of judges selects members of the board from nominations made by superintendents, school board members, district directors, or TSBA staff. Additionally, Mrs. Berry achieved the Level V Boardsmanship award, the highest level awarded by TSBA. Congratulations, Mrs. Berry.

Mr. Charlie Patterson achieved the Level III Boardsmanship Award at the TSBA conference. Congratulations, Mr. Patterson.

Mr. Herbert Nelson achieved the Level III Boardsmanship Award at the TSBA conference. Congratulations, Mr. Nelson.

For the first time in 25 years, the Clarksville-Montgomery County School Board earned the TSBA School Board of the Year Award. TSBA annually honors a school board for excellent service. To be considered for this award, school boards must be a TSBA Board of Distinction; develop, apply and monitor policy; promote quality education; be involved with elected officials, community, and staff; participate in board development activities, including boardsmanship award levels for each member; and other requirements. Congratulations, School Board members, on this great honor.

Finally, the School Board recognized Dr. Angela Huff with a plaque of appreciation for her year of service to CMCSS and this community as the Interim Director of Schools. She took the reins after a quick transition and during arguably one of the most challenging years for this district. She often said her goal was to keep the train on the tracks and moving forward. She ensured a smooth transition with Dr. Luna-Vedder. She served with honor, grace, and kindness and was much appreciated by the School Board.